Science

Hello aurora!

Aurora is back!

Wild about Scotland

Last night the aurora came back for a brief visit.  The light show was slow to get going but for a brief five minutes the sky lit up and sent purple and green pillars reaching high up towards the stars.

Charged particles from a coronal hole were forecast to reach the Earth yesterday and sure enough, once it got dark (around 9pm now that the clocks have moved to British Summer Time) my camera picked up a weak auroral arc.  I’d headed out to my usual spot, up a hill and less than 15 minutes from my house.  Aurorawatch UK had issued a red alert, the first since October 2016, so I was hopeful for a good light show.

You can read more about what triggered the aurora and where it could be seen on the Aurorawatch UK blog.  I’m pleased to say one of my pictures also features…

View original post 172 more words

Leave a Reply

